Winning at collecting but low key failing at *presenting* data

I have been using memex for a few years at this point. It was the “full text search” and the effective bookmark replacement “auto save” on all site visits that won me over to using it in the first place.

i stopped using memex entirely for quite some time however, because memex honestly felt like a sort of blackhole … you drop all this amazingly effortlessly collected info in, and it just kinda disappears … it fails (failed, its getting somewhat better) at implementing functional and efficient USES of the things it stores.

“Groups” are “meh” to me. its one approach and has some value. but its not gonna make the tool super useful by itself, and as far as RECALLING input, its most of what we have available. other than that its , hey here’s a list of everything you’ve done in this or that category.

While i was NOT using memex, i was busy chasing down everyother possible tool for research use – Obsidian, notion, zotero, raindrops, evernote, etc etc ettc … ALL of them. Even Databyss (which is pretty cool) …

HERE IS MY THOUGHTS:
you folks can’t do everything. I get that.
what you CAN do is be a GREAT “meta layer” for peoples browser \ file related research. I suggest
1 - adding google drive support as a storage option, as it gives people more autonomy over data storage \ organisation (this isn’t my biggest suggestion, but it was my least related to others so i put it first)
2 – MAIN IDEA – consider Memex as a sort of OVER layer for doing research \ web organisation … i currently use Vivaldi browser … there are a LOT of things it does REALLY well – you can take notes in the side panel (its not that full featured though) … you can tile panels, you can tile tabs, you can save sessions … thats all great.